News Briefs

In Cooperation with MoE and Support from Diakonia, Sigrid Rausing Trust, Al Mezan Honors Children Winners of Annual Human Rights Prize

    Share :

10 February 2015 |Reference 03/2015

On Tuesday, 10 February 2015, the Al Mezan Center for Human Rights in corporation with United Nations Relief and Works Agency (UNRWA), and Gaza Ministry of Education (MoE) organized a ceremony to honor the winners of a student human rights contest.
The competition brought together painting contestants from UNRWA and governmental schools, including those privately owned.
The prize was organized with support from Diakonia, and Sigrid Rausing Trust.
The students celebrated with almost 350 attendees in total including Mr.
Issam Younis, Al Mezan’s director; Mrs.
Shirin Ash-Shobaki from the Training and Mass Communication Unit Coordinator at Al Mezan; Antonio Zublilaga, human rights at UNRWA; a group of directors and observers of UNRWA programs; human rights teachers; the contest winners and their parents; and several representatives of community-based organizations.
Ash-Shobaki opened the ceremony by welcoming the participants and the main speakers.
She provided a summary of the contest and thanked those who had contributed for their efforts.
Issam Younis thanked the participants, UNRWA, and MoE for their continuous cooperation.
Of the more than 3,500 paintings seen in the contest, most of the subject material surrounded children rights to protection in armed conflict.
Reflecting on the work of the young artists, Mr.
Younis discussed the current nature of the human rights situation in the Gaza Strip and Israeli violations of human rights, particularly after the Israeli war that lasted for 51 days.
The war had affected the children’s psychology and this was reflected in their paintings.
He also mentioned the international community’s obligation to bring Israeli occupation forces (IOF) to justice for the crimes committed against Palestinians.
In concluding, Mr.
Younis congratulated the winners and affirmed the promotion of human rights culture as a common goal of all of the participating bodies.
Ziyad Thabet, Under Secretary of MoE, thanked Al Mezan for implementing activities such as this contest, which promote human rights among students and raise student awareness of human rights issues.
He also thanked UNRWA for its effective contributions towards promoting human rights culture in young people.
Antonio Zublilaga thanked Al Mezan for implementing activities such as this contest, which promote human rights among students and raise student awareness of human rights issues.
He then talked about the current human rights situation in the Gaza Strip and expressed his regret toward the killing of Palestinians, including children, in the last war.
He said that 10% of the daily dead during the Israeli war was of children.
He hoped that children in Palestine will live in peace and have a safe life.
During the ceremony, honors certificates were handed out to the 36 winners of the contest.
In addition, first place winners received a prize of $200, with second place winners receiving $150, and third place winners receiving $100 respectively for their praised efforts.
Student Duha Maher Sharaf delivered a poem entitled, “I’m Palestinianâ€‌ and received a 'thank you certificate'.
Students Omar and Halal Ahmed Al Sammak performed a piece of music.
Mrs Ash-Shobaki announced the opening of a gallery displaying the 36 winning paintings from the contest and more than 70 other commended works.
Ash-Shobaki concluded the ceremony by congratulating the winners of the contest.
Winners of the student human rights contest in the area of painting: 1st place: Abdullah Mahmoud Abu Oda Yazan Ibrahim Qdeih Alaa Salman Al Zre’ai Yasmin Fareed Abu Shammala Abdel Rahman Salah Al Din At-Titi Hour Nael Sha’th Hana Yahiya Zaqout Aseel Rezeq Gharbia Mahmoud Hasan Barhoum Nour Mohammed Badawi Intisar Abood Al Qeshawi Hamza Nabil Shaheen A’eda Atta Darwiesh 2nd Place Yasen Raed Al Astal Mustaf Jihad Abu Own Reema Sa’ad Ashour Ruba Nedal Qdieh Merna Al Nahhal Ceena Khalid Zu’rub Aseel Rezeq Gharbies Sumiya Faeq Dababish Nouran Hmeed Noura Hamdi Hamdouna Reem Al Amoudi Shrouq Masran 3rd Place Diana Murtaja Abu Shaheen Batoul As-Salti Haneen Al Sdoudi Abeer Fareed Abu Aser Saja Samie Quieder Nour Feras Al Ramlawi Aseel Fakher Abu Oda Ruba Khalid Al Namla Maram Munier Abu Ghali Mohammed Yousif Al Khateeb Hussam Qahman Alaa Adel Shalael END